awards release

EVERETT, WA – The Everett Silvertips presented their 2011-12 year-end awards during a ceremony following a 3-0 victorySilvertips Staff against the Victoria Royals in their ninth home finale at Comcast Arena.  Highlights of the ceremony included Captain Ryan Murray taking home Most Valuable Player honors, Ryan Harrison winning the Booster Club’s FIERCE Predator Award and Billet Coordinator Pat Jones being presented with the Jim Leo Distinguished Service Award.

Murray won the team MVP award for the second straight season after sharing the honor with goaltender Kent Simpson last year, and the Silvertips’ Captain also won his second consecutive Coaches Award.  Simpson was named this year’s “Unsung Hero” for his steady contributions throughout the course of the season.

Longtime Billet Coordinator Pat Jones earned the Jim Leo Distinguished Service Award after nine seasons of helping build and manage relationships between Silvertips players and their host families.  Harrison was voted to best represent the “spirit of the bear” by members of the Silvertips Booster Club to win the FIERCE Predator award.

Kohl Bauml won both the Rookie of the Year and Scholastic Player of the Year awards, while fellow rookie Ryan Chynoweth was named the team’s Most Improved Player.  Overager Brennan Yadlowski took home the Community Relations award for his involvement in community events away from the rink.

The full list of Silvertips 2011-12 year end awards winners:

Graduating Players   -19 year olds                    
 #9 JT Barnett, #11 Cody Fowlie, #22 Ryan Harrison, #32 Kent Simpson, #34 Dominik Bittner       
Overage Players   -20 year olds
#5 Brennan Yadlowski, #10 Josh Birkholz, #26 Josh Caron               

F.I.E.R.C.E Predator Award   –fortitude, resolve and perseverance on and off the ice
#22 Ryan Harrison

Jim Leo Distinguished Service Award   -long-term commitment to the Silvertips above and beyond the call
Pat Jones (billet coordinator)

IRON MAN AWARDS   –most games played
#11 Cody Fowlie, #13 Reid Petryk

MOST IMPROVED PLAYER   –most improvement from the start of the season
#8 Ryan Chynoweth

COACHES AWARD   -best utilization of instruction
#27 Ryan Murray

SCHOLASTIC PLAYER OF THE YEAR   -most accomplished student in the classroom
#15 Kohl Bauml

COMMUNITY RELATIONS AWARD   -most active player at schools, non-profits, and around the community
#5 Brennan Yadlowski

UNSUNG HERO  -biggest contributor outside of goals, assists and points
#32 Kent Simpson

ROOKIE OF THE YEAR                            
#15 Kohl Bauml

MOST VALUABLE PLAYER                       
#27 Ryan Murray

More News
Zachary Ashton, Signed WHL SPA
19 hours ago
2 days ago
TIPS ALL-DECADE // Bryce Kindopp
5 days ago
INSTANT CLASSIC // 7 Goals in a Playoff Showdown
6 days ago
TIPS TV // Fonstad Ready for the New Season
7 days ago
2020-21 Silvertips Co-Captains Announced: Fairbrother, Fonstad
1 week ago